Insights about teamwork

Teamwork is a complex concept and practice. I have some insights from my experience. However, in advance I tell you I don’t have all the answers to make teams efficient. It is because we are talking not about task, but people and relationship. First of all consideration, from our human behavior, the view of teamwork change if we are the person/leader who needs that people work as team and have the work done. That position challenges us. So, instead we say teamwork is not unviable we try to involve people, make them give their best.

That point also helps to clarify the difference between task and project. Task can be executed individually, but project demand team’s effort. I have worked for organizations, mostly in nonprofit sector, and teamwork is almost a rule. In general, we have a minimum staff and a lot of work. It also is related to some values the organizations have such as horizontality and democracy. Personally, I love the moment I shared an embryonic idea and it becomes a spectacular project after team meeting, and then, everyone pushes to achieve the results. My best achievements couldn’t happen without other’s talents.

Even though, I’m not always welcome to work as team when asked for. Some disappointed experiences made me reticent. I have perceived that besides personal problems, what upset person in workplace is related to teamwork. The complains are about misunderstand of the project; what him/her really has to do; concerning someone that didn’t meet deadline; regarding different ways to do things or referring to the effort one’s have put and others not.

Therefore, my wish is to do an exceptional job and have happy people around me. No, I’m not kind. I’m more productive in this environment. If teamwork is inevitable, some mistakes are.

Este slideshow necessita de JavaScript.

Deixe um comentário

